Victorious boys in blue

Wishes poured in from every quarter after the India Under-19 team pipped Australia by eight wickets on Saturday, to lift their fourth U19 World Cup title in New Zealand.India’s last title win in the ICC Under 19 World Cup came in 2012, when the team led by Unmukt Chand had beaten Australia in the finals. The Virat Kohli-led side had emerged victorious in 2008 and Mohammed Kaif was captain, when India triumphed way back in 2000.Prime Minister Narendra Modi took no time in wishing the boys in blue and said, “Absolutely thrilled by the stupendous achievement of our young cricketers. Congratulations to them on winning the Under-19 World Cup. This triumph makes every Indian extremely proud.”

President Ram Nath Kovind also congratulated the Prithvi Shaw-led side and tweeted, “Congrats to India’s talented young cricket team for winning the Under-19 World Cup. Calmness and composure of our boys embellishes their skills. Proud of captain @Shaw_Prithvi and his mates, as well as of coach Rahul Dravid and the hard-working support staff.”
Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Saturday congratulated Team India on its victory in the Under 19 Cricket World Cup .’Congratulations Team India on your resounding U 19 Cricket World Cup win! India takes great pride in the success of its new generation of cricket stars,” Rahul tweeted.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today congratulated Team India after winning the World Cup under-19 in the final against Australia at Mount Maunganui in New Zealand. ” Congratulations to the Indian team for winning the U-19 World Cup cricket. Keep winning. ESpecially proud of Ishan Porel for his performance in the semi final/ final,” Ms Banerjee, who keeps all information about sports and games, wrote in her Twitter account.

Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachhan termed the victory as a matter of pride for the entire nation and said, “#INDIACHAMPIONS !! UNDER 19 WORLD CRICKET CHAMPIONS .. THE ONLY NATION TO HAVE WON 4 TIMES !! AMAZING ! Well done India U19 cricket , you have given us such pride and joy ! INDIA ! INDIA ! INDIA !”(UNI)